Parrots on the Move!

photo courtesy of Brooklyn Parrots Please post a comment to let us know where you’ve seen the wild parrots!

6 Responses to “Parrots on the Move!”


  1. 1 Mary D February 1, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    There is a very big nest at the end of my street in Amityville. My husband buys parrot feed for them in bulk. We put out about 1/2 lb. each day. It is just a simple flat plate suspended from a chain on a tree limb. We probably see 20-30 each day.
    When I leave for work in the morning, there are often a couple waiting for me in the tree. Neighbors tell me they love crabapples. I plan to plant 2 this summer.

  2. 2 Barb S August 25, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    I was just outside my south Massapequa home playing ball with my dogs and a couple of kids from the block when we heard some strange cackeling. We looked up to see about 25 (looked like parrots to me) flying by. Ive lived on long island for 50 years that was one of the coolest things Ive ever seen I want more

  3. 3 Bill K November 17, 2009 at 2:15 am

    Sunday November 15 , 2009 my son and I seen six – eight Quaker Parots , at the end of Ray Street in Freeport . They were all gaterning and flying in and out of the power lines , were the lines and the pole meet. I said to my son , I bet they make a nest their.

    We drove North on South Main Street and seen another group of about ten.

  4. 4 Andy H. January 23, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    Saw three parrots today, first time pretty cool . If i put food out will they stay around?

  5. 5 Andy H. January 23, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    I forgot to say it was in Island Park


Leave a Reply

Archives

brooklynparrots on Twitter

Wild Parrots of Amityville


Edgewater Parrots | Fighting to Save New Jersey's Wild Quaker Parrots

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

ParrotAlert.com - Alerts

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

BrooklynParrots.com

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

City Parrots

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

