Red Headed Parrots?

Trey from Rockville Centre reports:

On 2/28/09
This morning I witnessed a flock of wild parrots in a tree in my backyard. These did not appear to be the same species as you described on your web page. The flock of 25 to 35 birds seemed to be quite a bit larger, with red heads. I live in Rockville Centre, the parrots hung out for about 1/2 hour and kept returning to the same tree. I once witnessed a flock in Brooklyn just north of Coney Island. These were a pleasant surprise.

After some back and forth with Trey and local parrot experts, it was determined these could be Cherry Heads, as featured in the film The Wild Parrots of Telegraph Hill. Have you seen these birds? Here’s Trey’s best guess as to what they look like:

Red Heads

By the way, for those of you who haven’t seen this film, I highly recommend it…

And yet another expert chimes in to add to the Red Headed mystery:

Every year, early Spring, a flock of wild Conures (Cherry-headed and/or Mitred) are seen near St. John’s University (Jamaica Estates area). In fact, at the same house, coming to munch on their Cherry trees’ blossoms I believe. I think Steve Baldwin has this information on his web site.

They stay for a few days, then are noted as heading off east, out towards Nassau County. It has been a mystery, no one has been able to track them. Where do they winter, we wonder?

Steve Baldwin from Brooklyn Parrots has added the following information on March 4th, 2009:

Hi Judy and Trey,

I know a bit about this flock, but they’re elusive: I’ve never actually spotted them. They’re sort of the “flying dutchmen” of wild parrot flocks in NY.

This is just a hypothesis, but I think this flock lives in Forest Park in Queens. This statement is based on all the sitings I’ve recorded of them. I definitely plan on making an expedition out there as soon as I can.

best,
steve baldwin
brooklynparrots.com

6 Responses to “Red Headed Parrots?”


  1. 2 Mark Bittner March 5, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    I’ve seen video footage of this flock. They are definitely mitred conures. They winter in the local area. Parrots don’t migrate. They CAN handle it.

  2. 3 Michelle Manning March 26, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    We have seen the red-headed parrots twice now at the NYSC in Oceanside. I tried to get info on them back in Nov when we first saw them on our roof and in the tree next to the club. I could not find any info then as all that were discussed on the web were the smaller, all green ones. They were back yesterday and were were all delighted! They are a flock of about 15 and are beautiful!

  3. 4 John "Parrot Training" Stead April 11, 2009 at 1:49 am

    Only wild parrots I have spotted so far are completely green.

  4. 5 Richard September 6, 2009 at 2:36 am

    I have seen the red headed parrots in the Jamaica part of Queens. They are about the same length as an Amazon parrot but a lot slimmer. They normally fly together in pairs or small flocks. Also, I am sure that they stay here for the winter, but I don’t know where. I saw them in my friend’s yard once in a small flock and a few times I have seen them fly overhead in pairs.

  5. 6 Woocommerce themes premium July 24, 2014 at 2:58 am

    If some one wants expert view on the topic of running
    a blog afterward i propose him/her to pay a quick visit this webpage,
    Keep up the nice job.


Leave a Reply

Archives

brooklynparrots on Twitter

Wild Parrots of Amityville

Parrots in the Icestorm 2/2/11

Parrots in the Icestorm 2/2/11

Parrots in the Icestorm 2/2/11

Parrots in the Icestorm 2/2/11

Parrots in the Icestorm 2/2/11

More Photos

Edgewater Parrots | Fighting to Save New Jersey's Wild Quaker Parrots

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

ParrotAlert.com - Alerts

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

BrooklynParrots.com

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

City Parrots

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

