Sighting last summer of a large flock

Jenny from New Rochelle reports:

“I wish I’d known about your website sooner! I thought you’d be interested to know that this past Summer, around late August I saw a flock of about 40+ birds in Davenport Park in New Rochelle, NY. I couldn’t believe it when I saw them! I haven’t seen them since though. Anyway, thanks for the great website!”

These guys have to be somewhere now! Has anyone spotted a flock in this area? Remember – wild parrots rely very heavily on backyard feeders during the winter months. Thanks Jenny!

12 Responses to “Sighting last summer of a large flock”


  1. 1 Rochelle O'Neal Thorpe February 23, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    Hi, I love your web site and wanted to share that the Author George Sommers has a new book coming out in April 2010 related to the topic of Wild Parrots in NYC… http://wigglespress.com/NYCParrots.html

    I would love to send you a pdf of the book to review…
    send me your information… thanks

  2. 2 Andrew October 18, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    I was walking along Church Street towards Davenport Neck by the millpond inlet late Columbus Day afternoon when I heard some unusual birdcalls. There were maybe five parakeets in one of the trees. I’ll be on the lookout for now on.

  3. 3 Annie August 18, 2011 at 11:51 am

    The parrot flock has been in our neighborhood (by the college of new rochelle) the past couple of days. Saw then this morning on my way to work! We have been in the neighborhood for about 15 years and see the birds often, but it is always a treat.

  4. 4 ParrotsinTville August 19, 2011 at 7:29 am

    Alan from Manhattan reported yesterday:

    Last week I was walking into Riverbank State Park at 145 St on the far west side at 7AM and I saw about a dozen green parrots heading into the park and landing in trees and moving from tree to tree. It was a wonderful and unforgettable sight.

    Thanks Alan!

  5. 5 Nick DeNezzo October 11, 2012 at 7:09 am

    All of the parrots in that area seem to come from nests [redacted]- these haven’t been used in years – the parrots have been there many years – probably since the 90’s not exactly sure? – there are 7-8 poles each with GIGANTIC , old established nests – probably 50 -100 birds per nest. these lights are unusually high – somewhere between 70-90 ft and the lights are no longer functional or maintained! They seem pretty safe there. they frequent all the parks in the area. Wile there may be other nests in the area , this is the only one I have been able to find – anyone know of others there?

  6. 6 Ruby April 26, 2013 at 12:40 am

    Spot on with this write-up, I honestly feel this web site needs
    a lot more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read more, thanks for the info!

  7. 8 Bauchfett Verlieren May 2, 2013 at 10:42 pm

    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to
    do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thank you

      • 10 ParrotsinTville May 3, 2013 at 4:48 pm

        Actually, this is not Nick’s blog. This is my blog – and I am the content owner, webmaster and designer of it as well as http://www.wildparrotsny.com. So, no one was hired. It’s just me.

        My Sister, Linda Brink of Sunnyskies Bird Sanctuary http://www.sunnyskiesbirdsanctuary.org/ is the only other administrator on this account.

        Nick is a content contributor, and while I’m very appreciative of his input as he does so much field work, I will caution everyone – I’ve mentioned this to Nick several times – that it is not safe for the parrots when people disclose the locations of their nests. Please be advised I will be deleting and/or editing posts that contain a precise location for the protection of our little friends.

        I do monitor both the site and its content on a daily basis, even if I may be remiss in posting fresh content.

        I know all of us only want the parrots to be safe, so I ask that everyone please be mindful that there are others out there who may have different motives. It makes it very easy for them to do so when you provide information on exactly where to go.

        Judy Brink-Drescher

  8. 11 Lee January 6, 2015 at 9:24 pm

    A large group were in my neighbors tree on First Street in New Rochelle Thanksgiving week about twenty of them.

  9. 12 Nick DeNezzo January 7, 2015 at 6:37 am

    Been to New Rochelle – If I remember correctly Davenport Park is not far from Trinity Elementary School(less than a mile ) Also, Glen Island Park is nearby. Parrots can be seen there- however, the nest is in back of Trinity School. It has a ball field with 8 light towers around it which haven’t worked in years. The parrots have been there over 20 years!!! The nests there are HUGE !!!! Probably over 50 parrots in each one !!!!! They don’t normally stray far. They are frequently seen at Davenport and Glen Island parks. In winter they are forced to travel farther for food. Tho 1st Avenue is extremely
    unusual. They usually don’t cross I 95 due to the large number of hawks in the area and the Connecticut Dept of wildlife which keeps track of such things has NEVER recorded a parrot sighting north of 95 in nearby Connecticut. They must be pretty desperate crossing the highway to 1st ave !


Leave a Reply

Archives

brooklynparrots on Twitter

Wild Parrots of Amityville

Parrots in the Icestorm 2/2/11

Parrots in the Icestorm 2/2/11

Parrots in the Icestorm 2/2/11

Parrots in the Icestorm 2/2/11

Parrots in the Icestorm 2/2/11

More Photos

Edgewater Parrots | Fighting to Save New Jersey's Wild Quaker Parrots

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

ParrotAlert.com - Alerts

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

BrooklynParrots.com

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

City Parrots

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

