Parrots Sighted in Harlem!

Today Beverly reported:

“I saw these birds in Harlem, 127th and 129th on Lenox Avenue, NYC, NY.. I thought I heard chirping of more birds too. I googled and discovered: Wild Parrots ARE in NYC and now in Harlem. The next morning I was awakened by a whole flock of loud chirping of these birds!

Who Knew?? Glad I know now!”

14 Responses to “Parrots Sighted in Harlem!”


  1. 1 Anonymous November 3, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    David wonders:

    I’ve been to the 127th to 129th and Lenox location twice in the last couple weeks, once at 10am and another time at 1pm. I have not seen the parrots. Have you had any confirmation of the 18 Oct sighting? Is there anywhere else in Manhattan where the Monk Parakeets reliably appear? I would very much like to see them!

  2. 2 Anonymous November 3, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    Greetings! A flock of about 20 to 30 wild green parrots live in Newbridge Rd Park, Bellmore,NY. I have seen them on many occasions near the baseball fields on the side closest to the water. I saw them this morning. First you hear the screeching and then you can see them fly in a wave. Glad I found your blog and will follow this. J

    • 3 NaTasha April 19, 2012 at 11:12 pm

      I thought I was the only one! My husband thinks I’m crazy… but they have big nests up in the tall lights by the basketball fields and I saw one perched in a tree when I was there today… pretty cool!

  3. 4 ParrotsinTville November 10, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    Janet Writes:

    Hello –
    At first I thought someone lost their pet – but now I am thinking our newest visitor to the bird feeder is a Monk Parakeet as shown in the photo on your site.
    I live in South Amboy NJ, about 40 mile south of NYC – have there been any other sighting in this area?
    I hated to think he was someone house pet that got away or “let go” with the winter coming.
    What can I feed him to help him through the winter if he stays around?
    thanks!

  4. 5 ParrotsinTville November 10, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    Thanks for writing Janet. The parrots will come to backyard feeders and eat wild bird seed. They are also especially fond of sunflower seeds. Fall/Winter months are most important to the birds, as this is where they get the majority of their food.

  5. 6 ParrotsinTville November 29, 2011 at 8:10 am

    Charlotte from the Bronx reports:

    This is likely old news to you but tonight I saw a dozen green ?parrots nesting under the West Side Highway. I saw them while walking on the path along the Hudson.

    I didn’t know the history for parrots in NYC but during my walk a woman told me about the ca. 1968 “escape” and subsequent Brooklyn colony. I found your website tonight and enjoyed learning more about what I saw today.

    Thanks for the site. We’ll have to see if these Upper West Side parrots stick around.

  6. 7 Cathy December 17, 2011 at 9:48 am

    I was walking my dog in great neck, NY which is located on the border of queens and Nassau county, and I stumbled upon a tree with six green birds. They didn’t look like they belonged in NY so I green birds and came across your blog. Wow! Parakeets in NY. Pretty amazing and a nice change of color:)

  7. 8 ParrotsinTville December 29, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    On December 26th Scott reports:

    To my amazement I saw 7 parrots in a tree in forest hills gardens. It was an awesome.

    Thanks Scott!

  8. 9 PJM December 29, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    Harlem Parrots are multiplying! I saw a flock this morning rather than the one or two I have been seeing over the past few months…

    PJM

  9. 10 Linda - Marie January 11, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    OMG!! yes Yesterday, spotted them! Feeding on the gorgeous tree full of red berries; beautiful bright green parrots. I took lots of pictures AMAZING!! we have tropical birds on Lenox Avenue!! There was an entire flock!, BRIGHT GREEN PARROTS

  10. 12 Anonymous January 30, 2012 at 8:20 am

    This morning Oscar reported:

    “Fyi About 2 weeks ago about approx. 12 were in a tree on Lenox ave between 124th and 125th streets. They were feeding on little red berries in the branches.”

    I think the mild weather is providing a valuable food source for our little green friends.

  11. 13 Anonymous August 1, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    I think I saw them on 135th street and St. Nicholas! A flock of 6 flew out of St. Nicholas Park. So cool!

  12. 14 CHANNYGIRL85 April 15, 2015 at 1:23 am

    Ok now!!! I to SAW the HUGE flock of Parrots too, I heard them before I saw them. Looked up to my left and OMG!!! I saw the most BEAUTIFUL flock of Parrots as Linda_Marie said, they were very colorful and vibrant,breathe taking, I felt like a litttle girl ,thats how in Ahw, I was. Can’t wait to see them again!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Wild Parrots of Amityville


Edgewater Parrots | Fighting to Save New Jersey's Wild Quaker Parrots

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

ParrotAlert.com - Alerts

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

BrooklynParrots.com

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

City Parrots

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

