Nests in Babylon

On July 4th, Donna reported:

“Hello, After getting out of my car early  one morning and hearing an “unusual” bird sound, I realized it was Parrots I was hearing,  I went back and was able to snap these photos. You  can post them if you choose to.   I spotted two but there may have been young birds also. I really didn’t want to draw a lot of attention to  the birds for fear that harm may come to them.”

ImageImage

Thanks Donna! And you are right, many nests in Amityville and other places have simply “disappeared”. Assuming the birds were not taken (which may or may not be the case) and are adults, they can rebuild and very quickly too. But it’s not good when either fledgelings or babies are in the nests, which is almost a guarantee during this time of the year. 

12 Responses to “Nests in Babylon”


  1. 1 Elsie July 10, 2012 at 9:54 am

    Hi! I just heard them in Washington Heights, off the GW Bridge. They were flying north. I am so thrilled! Their sound reminds me of mornings back home.

  2. 2 Anonymous July 16, 2012 at 8:12 am

    I just saw 2 Quakers in the tree in front of my house! I’m in Bellmore, on Long Island. Woot woot! Gotta run out and get some feeders!

  3. 4 Prith August 26, 2012 at 3:32 pm

    I saw four parrots on my neighbour’s tree across the street at around 8:30 this morning in Baldwin Harbor, I was trilled to see them, they stayed awhile and then the street became busy.

  4. 6 Nick DeNezzo October 11, 2012 at 7:13 am

    Hey Donna – Is this the nest by the LIRR – if so, it seems to be abandoned – no longer functional – I’ve found another nest in the village ( can’t say exactly where in this blog – not safe – itrs a transformer nest!

  5. 7 Nick DeNezzo October 11, 2012 at 7:16 am

    I’ve always found it strange why there haven’t been parrots in Babylon before – they are in West Islip and a lot of them in Lindenhurst – The ballfield lights at Argyle seem like a perfect attraction for them – I’ve wondered if Babylon Village is anti-parrot and destroys any detected nests in the Village?? Anyone care to commentr?

  6. 8 bob January 7, 2013 at 11:32 am

    are there any more parrots in Lindenhurst since the Hurricane?
    bbelpanno2246@aol.com

  7. 9 ParrotsinTville January 7, 2013 at 5:12 pm

    Hi Bob, I can’t speak specifically to Lindenhurst but they are still here in Amityville.

    • 10 Anonymous May 6, 2013 at 2:37 pm

      I can confirm that they are still in Amityville, specifically on [redacted] I heard that the utility company is going to dismantle the nest though, and put something there to prevent them from assembling another one there.

      I actually live in Lindenhurst and haven’t seen them here myself, but my neighbor just told me that his wife saw them and got some pictures of them.

      • 11 ParrotsinTville May 6, 2013 at 4:50 pm

        Hi, it is not a good idea to disclose nest locations – it is dangerous for the birds. I have edited your comment accordingly. Not everyone out there has good intentions. You should see the keywords I get in looking at the search analytics of this blog.

        Judy

  8. 12 Nick DeNezzo May 6, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    The ones on South ****** ( that you previously mentioned) should be safe from LIPA – none are on transformers!!! some are on vines on the wires – the biggest one is in a milk crate nailed to the top of a pole – the locals did this a few years ago to protect their transformer and so LIPA wouldn’t bother the birds – the one in the milk crate was hit hard by Irene – haven’t seen it since Sandy.,


Leave a Reply

Archives

brooklynparrots on Twitter

Wild Parrots of Amityville

Parrots in the Icestorm 2/2/11

Parrots in the Icestorm 2/2/11

Parrots in the Icestorm 2/2/11

Parrots in the Icestorm 2/2/11

Parrots in the Icestorm 2/2/11

More Photos

Edgewater Parrots | Fighting to Save New Jersey's Wild Quaker Parrots

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

ParrotAlert.com - Alerts

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

BrooklynParrots.com

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

City Parrots

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

