Merry Christmas from the Wild Parrots of New York

dcl0001_2_2

dcl0015

These pictures were taken a few years ago but I re-posted them for everyone to keep in mind the best present to give the parrots during this time of year is to keep those feeders full! Happy Holidays from WildParrotsofNY.com.

And just for laughs, be sure to check out the From the Parrot’s Beak Christmas Edition courtesy of George Sommers.

4 Responses to “Merry Christmas from the Wild Parrots of New York”


  1. 1 Marge December 27, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    I have seen 2 of these parrots at my backyard feeders in the past 2 days. I thought they were someones pets so I started making inquiries this morning and was told they are probably Quaker parrots. I live in Patchogue, NY

    • 2 Nick DeNezzo January 7, 2013 at 12:10 pm

      Marge- This is pretty big news – I’m aware of most of the nests on Long Island and have not been able to confirm one east of West Islip!
      Also , the parrots SELDOM ( if ever) travel more than a mile from their nest so there would have to be one nearby – Tho I have driven through waterfront neighborhoods in Patchogue several times looking for one with no luck !!! I would appreciate it if you would email me at xlnick@yahoo.com with additional info such as what street you have seen them on. Thanks

  2. 3 Norma S December 30, 2014 at 8:05 pm

    I LOVE the parrots that come to my feeders! I’ve been living in Valley Stream for 25 years now (with a few in Hewlett) and never knew there were parrots here until a year ago October when two appeared in my yard to eat the bird seed I put out. Well, we bought this, our first house, a year and a half ago, so I was able to put out feeders and I didn’t see them again until a few months ago. First just a couple and gradually more and more. One day the entire flock was in my next door neighbors huge tree squawking like crazy! I video’d it. You couldn’t see them, but you sure could hear them! I’m constantly videoing the ones that come to my suet feeders, including just this morning when I had at least eight of them on the feeders, in my tree and on the wires above.

    The first I’d heard of wild parrots in NY was several years ago, we had gone to City Island in The Bronx for my aunt’s 75th birthday and they were all over the trees. Again, my brother told me that they thought they’d escaped from a shipment at JFK, where I happen to work. I had no idea they had spread to Long Island as well. Yay! LOL.

  3. 4 ParrotsinTville December 31, 2014 at 9:24 am

    That’s a wonderful story, Norma! Food that the birds can normally find is scarce in the winter, so feeders are a major source of survival for the birds. Enjoy the racket!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Wild Parrots of Amityville


Edgewater Parrots | Fighting to Save New Jersey's Wild Quaker Parrots

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

ParrotAlert.com - Alerts

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

BrooklynParrots.com

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

City Parrots

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

