Perhaps Another Parrot on the Loose in NYC?

On July 30th Max reported a NYC sighting, possibly of a lost or missing bird:

“Hi, my name is Max, I stayed in NY for a week maybe a month ago.
And when I was up on the roof of the house we stayed in I spotted a small flock of green parrots flying by and I thought WOW! do they have parrots here?

And then I told my fiance about it and how thrilling it was and all that and i regret I didn’t bring a camera up on the roof.

However another day when we went to the Metro, it started to rain, like a shower. So we got soaked and had to turn back home, but soon the rain stopped and the sun broke through instead, and as I stood in the hallway I could hear this beautiful sound coming through the ventilationduct, and first i didn’t know what to think, but then I realized, IT*S THE PARROTS!

So I grabbed the camera and ran up the stairs to the roof and carefully opened the door, and sneaked out so I wouldn’t startle them, and as i looked up the chimney, I saw the most beatiful bird I have ever seen with my own eyes, I had forgotten to turn the camera on and the bird spotted me and flew away real quick as soon as it saw me.

However, this bird was red to almost orange, and as I recall it might have had some feathers standing up on its head. Might have been a bit yellow as well.

I couldn’t find anything like it on your website, and i doubt that it was a domesticated bird because it didn’t seem to be used to people.

Perhaps you know what bird it was? Never saw or heard it again.”

Does anyone want to comment on what they think Max saw?

5 Responses to “Perhaps Another Parrot on the Loose in NYC?”


  1. 1 ParrotsinTville August 3, 2013 at 5:27 pm

    Hi,
    Today I spoke to an ornithologist who thought that it could’ve been a northern cardinal that I saw, and then when I got home I listened to the cardinal’s song on youtube and I’m pretty sure this was it.

    So not a parrot but still a beatiful bird.

    Thanks a lot.

    Kind regards Max

  2. 2 Parrots at Feller's Pond August 12, 2013 at 11:03 am

    I just wanted to post this somewhere. I played softball at a Fireman’s Park/Feller’s Pond in Lindenhurst and there were many parrots in nested in the light poles. It was very cool to see.

    • 3 Brian December 6, 2014 at 12:35 pm

      I also saw a whole flock of green wild parrots at Fireman’s park in the trees in the 9-11 memorial park. I also noticed that there are a bunch of red & blue birdhouses nailed to the trees in there.

  3. 4 ParrotsinTville August 21, 2013 at 5:15 pm

    Today Luz reported:

    “Hello,

    There are a lot of Quaker parots in clason point in the bronx on trees nest and also light poles.Everyday they fly by in bunches of about 10 or more I see them all year around even in cold weather too.”

  4. 5 ParrotsinTville August 22, 2013 at 5:11 pm

    Today Veronica reported:

    “Too slow to get my camera..i live in wantagh long island…..approx 8 wild parrots on a power line in front of my house ..for a few minutes squalling flying around into a few trees…i thought i was crazy….so beautiful to see…..
    i came in to look up if possible and i see it is ..wow ……”


Leave a Reply

Archives

Wild Parrots of Amityville


Edgewater Parrots | Fighting to Save New Jersey's Wild Quaker Parrots

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

ParrotAlert.com - Alerts

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

BrooklynParrots.com

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

City Parrots

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

