Parrots Sighted in Bellmore

Russell reports: I saw six flying over my house in Bellmore. I have been hearing them since last fall but finally saw them yesterday.

 

15 Responses to “Parrots Sighted in Bellmore”


  1. 1 Cyndee July 8, 2014 at 7:36 pm

    I live in Baldwin Harbor, and we have a regular group of 6 parrots flying over our canal. Their squawk is unmistakeable, so you know when they are coming!

  2. 2 ParrotsinTville August 29, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    On August 29, 2014 I received an email: I noticed about a dozen green parrots in an apple tree located in Merrick, NY

    • 3 Cyndee August 29, 2014 at 10:25 pm

      Last night, 8/28/14, I went to Left Coast Kitchen. Before entering I heard a large group of parrots across Merrick Rd in a large tree. I saw a number of them take off and fly westerly.

  3. 4 Steve Kurtz September 23, 2014 at 5:04 pm

    I finally was able to get a few pics today of the Wild Parrots. They’ve been eluding me all summer long.

    I would love to share the pic, but not sure how to !!!

    -Steve

  4. 6 Tom November 4, 2014 at 9:19 pm

    i saw a flock of them in an apple tree 11/3/14 in bellmore

  5. 7 Cyndee November 5, 2014 at 7:12 pm

    I have found a nest for the parrots after observing them fly over my house many times. They have nests in the very tall lights adjacent to the baseball fields in Baldwin Park- in Baldwin Harbor. There are some nests also for the Ospreys, but the parrot nest has a round appearance, rather than flat. They squawk flying over my home in groups of 4-20 or more on a daily basis.

  6. 8 O369marine March 10, 2015 at 1:46 am

    Hello, I saw three birds flying over me, entering wanatgh park today. I had glanced up, as I heard strange squawks. I then saw the green birds overhead. I tried to walk through the park to locate the birds, but the still present snow held me off the paths.

  7. 9 myankee286 April 12, 2015 at 8:42 am

    yes I live in Bellmore also I feed them every day. And a nest is right down the block. I love these birds and my kids love them. In the morning with my coffee and watch them outside.

  8. 11 ParrotsinTville July 13, 2015 at 5:30 pm

    Today Frederick reported: “My wife and I were at the Philip Healy beach in massapequa and saw four very noisy parrots fly on to a near by tree.”

  9. 12 ParrotsinTville August 3, 2015 at 5:06 pm

    Today Jose reported:

    “Hi! Just to let you know that on July 24, 2015, I saw a group of about 4 or 5 parrots flying east to west over the offices of the Norman J. Levy Park & Preserve in Merrick. I was just about to get in the car when they surprised me flying and singing over. Not a chance to put the telephoto on my camera. They were gone in seconds. I knew about some wild parrots in Brooklyn, but was not aware of them on these parts of Long Island. Reading your blog I learned a lot about them.”

  10. 13 David August 27, 2015 at 10:54 pm

    August 27, 2015. I live in South Bellmore near Newbridge Park and have 3-4 visiting my backyard daily for the past couple of weeks. I would be glad to share my photos with you as well.

  11. 14 Dean October 29, 2016 at 5:51 pm

    Oct 27, 2016 sited 20 at the merrick transfer station

  12. 15 Nicole August 13, 2017 at 7:59 am

    A flock flew right over my head yesterday! They are hanging out in the tree above my pool nevwr saw this before!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Wild Parrots of Amityville


Edgewater Parrots | Fighting to Save New Jersey's Wild Quaker Parrots

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

ParrotAlert.com - Alerts

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

BrooklynParrots.com

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

City Parrots

Quaker Parrots & Monk Parakeets in the New York Metro Area

